See Corner Brook Stream Trail map below:
Popular Trail Loops:
(Click on maps for larger view)
See below listing of points of interest along the Corner Brook Stream Trail Network:
Captain Cooks Monument
Captain Cook is an historical figure; his voyages to the South Pacific, in particular, are a well-known chapter of British colonial history. The fact that Cook honed his surveying and cartographic skills in the adjacent Bay of Islands makes this area relevant to a significant portion of his career.
The Newfoundland Railway operated for little over a century, with its first run in 1882 and its last freight run in 1988. The railway brought passengers and freight from Port Aux Basques to St. John’s and it was particularly beneficial to the pulp and paper industry in both Corner Brook and Grand Falls.
Wetland Interpretation Site
In many places in Canada, nearly 70 % of wetland habitats have been destroyed. According to Duck’s Unlimited, wetlands are key to the lifecycles of nearly 600 species of waterfowl and wildlife. In an effort to conserve wetland habitat, the Corner Brook Stream Development Corporation in partnership with Duck’s Unlimited constructed a wetland’s interpretation site
Corner Brook Gorge
The Corner Brook Stream Gorge boasts one of the most spectacular views on the trail system. A must see, the Gorge reaches high and is a magnificent geological feature.
Three Bear Mountain View
Take a walk around the Three Bear Mountain Trail for a spectacular view of the city, the Bay and the Blomidon Mountains. Along with its spectacular views, this section of trail features historical panels along the way describing Corner Brook is its earlier years.
For nearly 50 years, salmon were unable to return to their original spawning grounds due to the construction of the damn at the Glynmill Inn Pond. In 2002, a fish ladder was constructed and several organizations assisted with the release of fry into the stream, salmon are now returning to the Corner Brook Stream trail to spawn.